What the tech
Subscribe

Search

/ opens search from anywhere. Esc closes it.

Get the newsletter

AI Compare

Gemini vs GitHub Copilot: which plan fits your work?

Prices for United States, before sales tax Data release 2026.10.16-3, Oct 16, 2026 Rules 2.1.0

Comparing Google AI Pro and Copilot Pro: individual plans, prices for United States. Change the plans below to compare any other two.

The verdict is being reviewed because facts about these plans changed. The comparison below already shows the current facts.

This page is for developers choosing between Google's Gemini plans and GitHub Copilot for help with code. We compare Google AI Pro at $19.99 a month with Copilot Pro at $10 a month. Copilot Pro is Copilot's lowest plan with the cloud agent and pull request review. Google documents no pull request review on any consumer plan, so on the Gemini side we picked its standard paid plan, which documents Jules (cloud tasks that can open pull requests) with higher limits, and Google Antigravity. We also cover the free tiers, Google AI Plus and Ultra, and Copilot Pro+ and Max.

Every fact comes from Google's and GitHub's own pricing, help and documentation pages for individual US plans, checked on October 12 and 13, 2026. Where a vendor says nothing, we call it not verified, which is different from documented as not offered. We have not tested either tool yet, so nothing here is a claim about code quality.

Side by side

Price

Price (United States)
Google AI Pro

$19.99 a month or $199.99 a year

Verified Oct 12, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro

$10 a month

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Models and limits

Top models included
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

3.8 Flash; 3.1 Pro (Expanded); no Deep Think.

Verified Oct 12, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
YesLimits vary

'A selection of models': Claude Sonnet 5.5, Haiku 5.5, GPT-5.6 Terra/Luna, GPT-6 Luna, GPT-5.4, Gemini 3.8 Flash, Grok 4.7, Kimi K3, MAI-Code. Not included: Claude Opus/Fable, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-6/6.1 Sol.

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Context window
Google AI Pro
Yes

1 million tokens.

Verified Oct 12, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
YesLimits vary

Optional 1 million token context for supported models, in VS Code and Copilot CLI only; uses more AI credits. Default context size per model not stated on the pages checked.

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Models from several companies
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Only inside Antigravity: Pro column lists Gemini models plus Claude Sonnet 5.5/Opus 5.5 (non-trial subscriptions only), Claude 4.6 models and GPT-OSS-120b (4.6/GPT-OSS removed Nov 2, 2026). Gemini app lists Google models only.

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
YesLimits vary

Choose models from Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, xAI, Moonshot (Kimi) and Microsoft (plan decides which); auto selection also offered with a 10% model-cost discount.

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

General-purpose assistant
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Gemini app with 4x Free usage limits, 3.8 Flash and 3.1 Pro, Deep Research, plus Gemini in Gmail, Docs and Sheets.

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Not applicable

Docs scope Copilot to software work: code, repositories and development concepts. General questions shown are programming-related; not positioned as an everyday writing assistant.

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Research and sources

Web search with sources
Google AI Pro
Unclear

Search grounding with source links not described on fetched plan pages.

Verified Oct 12, 2026

Copilot Pro
Yes

Optional Bing web search for Copilot Chat (off by default; enable 'Copilot access to Bing' in settings). Setting listed for Free, Pro, Pro+ and Max. Display of source links not confirmed on the page fetched.

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Deep research reports
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Expanded Deep Research.

Verified Oct 12, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Unclear

No research-report mode documented; cloud agent can do 'deep research of a repository' (code research only, paid plans).

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Files and data

File and document uploads
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Up to 1,500 pages of file uploads.

Verified Oct 12, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
YesLimits vary

Attach images and PDFs to chat prompts (GitHub.com, IDE, CLI) when using a model that supports image input.

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Spreadsheet and data analysis
Google AI Pro
Unclear

Spreadsheet/CSV computation not described on fetched plan pages.

Verified Oct 12, 2026

Copilot Pro
Unclear

Spreadsheet/CSV analysis with computation not documented as a feature.

Verified Oct 13, 2026

Coding

Coding agent
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Jules (higher limits), Antigravity (entry limits), AI Studio, Android Studio.

Verified Oct 12, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
YesLimits vary

Agent mode in VS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains, Eclipse and Xcode, plus Copilot CLI; consumes AI credits.

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Works in your code editor
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Via Google Antigravity: Antigravity IDE and CLI, plus extensions for VS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains, Zed, Xcode. Pro: higher quota refreshed every 5 hours up to a weekly limit, plus AI-credit overages. Code Assist IDE/Gemini CLI consumer access ended June 18, 2026.

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Yes

Extensions for VS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains IDEs, Xcode, Eclipse, Neovim, Zed, SQL Server Management Studio and Raycast; features vary by IDE (see feature matrix).

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Code completions as you type
Google AI Pro
Yes

Antigravity baseline (all plans) includes unlimited Tab completions; Pro adds higher agent rate limits, not more completions.

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Yes

Inline suggestions and next edit suggestions are unlimited and do not consume AI credits.

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Background coding agent
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Jules in Pro: 100 daily tasks (rolling 24h), 15 concurrent tasks, higher access to latest model (Jules limits page); cloud VM tasks that can open PRs. Gemini subscriptions page: 'Higher limits'.

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
YesLimits vary

Copilot cloud agent researches a repo, plans and codes in a cloud dev environment and opens a PR; GitHub-hosted repos only, one repo/branch/PR per task, 59-minute session limit; uses AI credits.

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Pull request review
Google AI Pro
No

Consumer Gemini Code Assist on GitHub (which covered Google AI Pro users) shut down July 17, 2026; Code Assist IDE/CLI also stopped serving Google AI Pro on June 18, 2026. No replacement PR reviewer documented for Pro.

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
YesLimits vary

Copilot code review on GitHub PRs (manual or automatic for PRs you create) and file-diff review in editors; ~$0.05-$1 (Lite) or $0.25-$5 (Balanced) of AI credits per review.

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Images, video and voice

Image generation
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Expanded image generation (Nano Banana Pro).

Verified Oct 12, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Unclear

Image generation not documented for Copilot.

Verified Oct 13, 2026

Video generation
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Omni Flash; 1,000 Flow credits/mo; limited Veo 3.1 Lite trial.

Verified Oct 12, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Unclear

Video generation not documented for Copilot.

Verified Oct 13, 2026

Real-time voice
Google AI Pro
Yes

Gemini Live.

Verified Oct 12, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Unclear

Only voice input (dictating prompts) is documented for Copilot CLI; no spoken two-way conversation documented.

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Image editing and design

Photo editing
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Gemini app (Nano Banana 2): upload an image and ask Gemini to make edits, change parts of it, or combine several photos; editing is 18+. Plan adds Nano Banana Pro ('Redo with Pro') and higher limits.

Verified Oct 16, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Unclear

No GitHub page documents image generation or editing in Copilot; the plans page lists image input only.

Verified Oct 16, 2026

Background removal
Google AI Pro
Unclear

Google says you can tell Gemini to 'change the background, replace an object, or add an element'; no page documents removing a background to transparency.

Verified Oct 16, 2026

Copilot Pro
Unclear

No GitHub page documents background removal in Copilot.

Verified Oct 16, 2026

Text inside images
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Nano Banana 2 lists 'Better text rendering: Add text to images with more accurate spelling'; Nano Banana Pro (paid plans) is pitched for images with text rendering.

Verified Oct 16, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Unclear

No GitHub page documents image generation in Copilot, so text in images is not described.

Verified Oct 16, 2026

Logo maker
Google AI Pro
UnclearLimits vary

No logo maker, logo templates or logo mode documented; Google's Nano Banana page says you can create logos, invites and posters with clear text. No dedicated logo tool or template set is documented.

Verified Oct 16, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Unclear

No GitHub page documents a logo maker in Copilot.

Verified Oct 16, 2026

Vector (SVG) files
Google AI Pro
Unclear

No Google page documents SVG or vector output for Gemini images; downloads are full-size images (2K with a Google AI plan, 1K without).

Verified Oct 16, 2026

Copilot Pro
Unclear

No GitHub page documents vector or SVG export as a Copilot feature.

Verified Oct 16, 2026

Upscaling
Google AI Pro
No

The Google AI plans comparison shows no 4K image upscaling (Google Flow) for this plan; it is ticked only for Ultra 5x and Ultra 20x.

Verified Oct 16, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Unclear

No GitHub page documents image upscaling in Copilot.

Verified Oct 16, 2026

Video editing and presenters

Photo to video
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Gemini app (Gemini Omni): turn up to 5 photos into a video. Also Google Flow Frames to Video (1,000 Flow credits/month plus 50 daily) and Google Photos Photo to video (Expanded generations).

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Not applicable

GitHub Copilot is a coding assistant; its plans page lists no video features and no bundled video app.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Footage editing
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Gemini app and Google Flow (Gemini Omni): prompt edits to uploaded or generated video (Flow: upload up to 60 s, 1 GB, edit a 10 s segment, 40 credits per edit; Scenebuilder trim and arrange). Google Vids: text-based transcript trim. Uploading video for edits is not offered in some US states.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Not applicable

GitHub Copilot is a coding assistant; its plans page lists no video features and no bundled video app.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Avatar presenters
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Google Vids AI avatars speak the words in your script (25/month, includes personal avatars). Gemini app and Flow also let you record your own face and voice as an avatar for Omni videos (not in EEA, UK, Switzerland; English only in Gemini).

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Not applicable

GitHub Copilot is a coding assistant; its plans page lists no video features and no bundled video app.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Lip sync
Google AI Pro
Unclear

No Google page documents lip sync to new audio for these plans. Google says of Gemini Omni: editing video to change audio and speech is still being tested.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Not applicable

GitHub Copilot is a coding assistant; its plans page lists no video features and no bundled video app.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Automatic captions
Google AI Pro
Unclear

Not stated as automatic: Google Vids has styled captions that sync with the audio, open to personal accounts; no page says they are generated without your input. Google Vids styled captions, synced to the audio, available to all personal Google accounts (also transcript trim and teleprompter); you can correct caption errors.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Not applicable

GitHub Copilot is a coding assistant; its plans page lists no video features and no bundled video app.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Clips from long videos
Google AI Pro
Unclear

No Google page ties automatic long video to short clips to the Gemini app, Flow, Vids or Photos on this plan.

Verified Oct 15, 2026

Copilot Pro
Not applicable

GitHub Copilot is a coding assistant; its plans page lists no video features and no bundled video app.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Exports without a watermark
Google AI Pro
Yes

Visible watermark can be turned off: Gemini app (Settings, Media, Watermark) and Google Flow have a visible watermark toggle in the US. Invisible SynthID watermark and C2PA Content Credentials always remain.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Not applicable

GitHub Copilot is a coding assistant; its plans page lists no video features and no bundled video app.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

App building and hosting

Apps from a description
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Canvas in the Gemini app creates apps and web pages from a prompt, with code view and Gemini-powered features. Google AI Studio Build (vibe coding agent, 'Expanded' daily usage on this plan) builds full-stack web and Android apps from a prompt.

Verified Oct 16, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
No

GitHub Spark, Copilot's app builder, is 'Not included' on this plan in the plans docs, and it stopped accepting new users and apps on August 4, 2026. GitHub points builders to Copilot in VS Code, Copilot CLI and the Copilot app, which are coding agents.

Verified Oct 16, 2026 · Source

Hosting and publishing
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Canvas apps can be shared with a public g.co/gemini/share link (opens in gemini.google.com). AI Studio deploys apps to Cloud Run with a public URL; needs a Cloud billing account except the Starter Tier (eligible accounts, up to 2 apps).

Verified Oct 16, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
No

No hosting for new apps: GitHub Spark, which deployed apps, is not included on this plan and closed to new apps on August 4, 2026.

Verified Oct 16, 2026 · Source

Custom domain
Google AI Pro
Unclear

No Google page documents putting a Canvas or AI Studio app on your own domain. AI Studio lets you pick a custom subdomain under ai.studio (for example your-app-name.ai.studio).

Verified Oct 16, 2026

Copilot Pro
No

No Copilot app hosting on this plan (GitHub Spark is not included and closed to new apps), so there is no domain to set.

Verified Oct 16, 2026 · Source

Database and sign-in
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Canvas apps can save data across sessions and devices (anyone with a public link can view and edit that data). AI Studio Build provisions Firebase Firestore and Firebase Authentication (Sign in with Google).

Verified Oct 16, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
No

No Copilot app builder on this plan (GitHub Spark is not included and closed to new apps), so no built-in app storage.

Verified Oct 16, 2026 · Source

Code export
Google AI Pro
Yes

Canvas has a Code view where you can read and edit an app's code, and exports Python to Colab. Google AI Studio Build exports code as a ZIP or syncs two ways with GitHub.

Verified Oct 16, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Yes

Copilot writes code into your own files and repos: agent mode edits your local project and Copilot cloud agent works in your GitHub repositories. Spark users could export an app to a repository until August 31, 2026.

Verified Oct 16, 2026 · Source

Music, voice and transcription

Songs with vocals
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Lyria 3.5 in the Gemini app makes tracks with music and lyrics (vocals) from text, photos or video; short (about 1 min) or full (2 to 3 min, needs the Pro model); 18+. Ticked on every plan; higher plans get higher limits. Google Vids 'Generate music' is also included.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Not applicable

GitHub Copilot is a coding assistant and does not generate music.

Verified Oct 15, 2026

Instrumental music
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

When creating a track you can choose whether it has vocals or not, so instrumental tracks are possible; same usage limits as music generation.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Not applicable

GitHub Copilot is a coding assistant and does not generate music.

Verified Oct 15, 2026

Separate stems
Google AI Pro
Unclear

Help article lists downloads as MP4 video with cover art or audio-only MP3; separated stems are not described.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Not applicable

GitHub Copilot is a coding assistant with no music or audio output to split into stems.

Verified Oct 15, 2026

Voiceover from text
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Google Vids 'AI voiceover' and Google Docs 'Audio generation' are both listed for this plan.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Not applicable

GitHub Copilot is a coding assistant and does not produce voiceovers from text.

Verified Oct 15, 2026

Voice cloning
Google AI Pro
Unclear

Not documented: Google's personal avatar feature records your face and voice for videos, but no page says it reads new text in a copy of your voice.

Verified Oct 15, 2026

Copilot Pro
Not applicable

GitHub Copilot is a coding assistant and does not create synthetic voices.

Verified Oct 15, 2026

Dubbing into other languages
Google AI Pro
Unclear

Not documented for recorded audio or video: Google Meet translates speech live in calls on some plans, which is not dubbing a file.

Verified Oct 15, 2026

Copilot Pro
Not applicable

GitHub Copilot is a coding assistant and does not translate or re-voice audio or video.

Verified Oct 15, 2026

Sound effects
Google AI Pro
Unclear

No official page describes generating stand-alone sound effects from a description in the Gemini app or Google Flow.

Verified Oct 15, 2026

Copilot Pro
Not applicable

GitHub Copilot is a coding assistant and does not generate audio.

Verified Oct 15, 2026

Transcription
Google AI Pro
Unclear

Audio files can be uploaded to Gemini for answers and summaries (total audio up to 10 minutes; 3 hours with Google AI Pro or Ultra), but no official page names transcription as a feature.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Not applicable

GitHub Copilot is a coding assistant and does not transcribe recordings or audio and video files.

Verified Oct 15, 2026

Meeting notes
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Gemini 'Take notes for me' in Google Meet captures notes in Google Docs, gives 'Summary so far' and a recap email; recommended for 15 minutes to 8 hours; 8 spoken languages.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Not applicable

GitHub Copilot is a coding assistant and does not join or record meetings.

Verified Oct 15, 2026

Dictation into any app
Google AI Pro
Unclear

No official Gemini page describes system-wide dictation into other apps; help center search found only voice input inside Gemini.

Verified Oct 15, 2026

Copilot Pro
Not applicable

GitHub Copilot is a coding assistant and does not offer system-wide dictation into other apps.

Verified Oct 15, 2026

Projects and memory

Projects
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Gemini Notebook (research/writing assistant, notebooks).

Verified Oct 12, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Yes

Copilot Spaces: collect repos, files and other sources as shared context for Copilot Chat on GitHub (and in IDE via GitHub MCP server); share privately, with users or publicly. Plus repository/personal custom instructions.

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Custom assistants
Google AI Pro
Yes

Gems ('Custom AI experts').

Verified Oct 12, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Yes

Custom agents: Markdown agent profiles (.github/agents/NAME.md) with prompt, tools and MCP servers; usable in cloud agent, CLI, VS Code, JetBrains, Eclipse, Xcode. Plans page ticks 'Custom instructions and agents' on all plans.

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Memory across chats
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Memory of past chats; requires 18+, personal account, Keep Activity on. Plan not specified.

Verified Oct 12, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Yes

Copilot Memory (public preview): stores repository facts and personal preferences across sessions, validated against code; unused entries deleted after 28 days; you can view/delete your preferences.

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Integrations and agents

Connectors to other apps
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Connected Apps: Gmail, Calendar, Maps, YouTube, YouTube Music, Google Home, Flights, Hotels, Spotify, WhatsApp; varies by device/country.

Verified Oct 12, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Yes

Model Context Protocol (MCP) server integration on all individual plans; GitHub MCP Server; cloud agent integrations with Slack, Teams, Jira, Linear, Azure Boards (paid).

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Inside Gmail
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

All Gemini in Gmail features in Google's compare table, incl. Help me write, Proofread, AI Overviews (threads and Gmail search, search US only), AI Inbox, Help me schedule. US Pro/Ultra users may no longer see the Gmail side panel; in-line AI replaces it.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Unclear

GitHub's Copilot plans and features docs list IDEs, GitHub.com, GitHub Mobile, Windows Terminal, Copilot CLI and the Copilot app, plus Slack, Teams, Jira, Linear and Azure Boards integrations. No official GitHub page mentions an add-in inside Gmail.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Inside Google Docs
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Gemini in Docs: Help me write, Write and edit, Summarize a document, Create personalized documents, Generate an image, Audio generation. Docs Live (voice) rolling out on Android and iOS in US only. Select languages, 18+.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Unclear

GitHub's Copilot plans and features docs list IDEs, GitHub.com, GitHub Mobile, Windows Terminal, Copilot CLI and the Copilot app, plus Slack, Teams, Jira, Linear and Azure Boards integrations. No official GitHub page mentions an add-in inside Google Docs.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Inside Google Sheets
Google AI Pro
Yes

Gemini in Sheets: AI function, Enhanced Smart Fill, Generate insights and analyze data. Works best with native Sheets files; Excel (.xlsx) files must be saved as Google Sheets first.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Unclear

GitHub's Copilot plans and features docs list IDEs, GitHub.com, GitHub Mobile, Windows Terminal, Copilot CLI and the Copilot app, plus Slack, Teams, Jira, Linear and Azure Boards integrations. No official GitHub page mentions an add-in inside Google Sheets.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Inside Word
Google AI Pro
Unclear

No official Google page found that documents a Gemini add-in for Microsoft Word on any personal Google AI plan. Only third-party add-ins turned up. Gemini app can export files, which is not working inside Word.

Verified Oct 15, 2026

Copilot Pro
Unclear

GitHub's Copilot plans and features docs list IDEs, GitHub.com, GitHub Mobile, Windows Terminal, Copilot CLI and the Copilot app, plus Slack, Teams, Jira, Linear and Azure Boards integrations. No official GitHub page mentions an add-in inside Word.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Inside Excel
Google AI Pro
Unclear

No official Google page found that documents a Gemini add-in for Microsoft Excel on any personal Google AI plan. Only third-party add-ins turned up. Gemini app can export files, which is not working inside Excel.

Verified Oct 15, 2026

Copilot Pro
Unclear

GitHub's Copilot plans and features docs list IDEs, GitHub.com, GitHub Mobile, Windows Terminal, Copilot CLI and the Copilot app, plus Slack, Teams, Jira, Linear and Azure Boards integrations. No official GitHub page mentions an add-in inside Excel.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Inside PowerPoint
Google AI Pro
Unclear

No official Google page found that documents a Gemini add-in for Microsoft PowerPoint on any personal Google AI plan. Only third-party add-ins turned up. Gemini app can export files, which is not working inside PowerPoint.

Verified Oct 15, 2026

Copilot Pro
Unclear

GitHub's Copilot plans and features docs list IDEs, GitHub.com, GitHub Mobile, Windows Terminal, Copilot CLI and the Copilot app, plus Slack, Teams, Jira, Linear and Azure Boards integrations. No official GitHub page mentions an add-in inside PowerPoint.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Inside Outlook
Google AI Pro
Unclear

No official Google page found that documents a Gemini add-in for Microsoft Outlook on any personal Google AI plan. Only third-party add-ins turned up. Gemini app can export files, which is not working inside Outlook.

Verified Oct 15, 2026

Copilot Pro
Unclear

GitHub's Copilot plans and features docs list IDEs, GitHub.com, GitHub Mobile, Windows Terminal, Copilot CLI and the Copilot app, plus Slack, Teams, Jira, Linear and Azure Boards integrations. No official GitHub page mentions an add-in inside Outlook.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Browser agent
Google AI Pro
YesLimits vary

Chrome auto browse (US and India) and Gemini Spark (select countries).

Verified Oct 12, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Unclear

Copilot agents work in your editor, terminal or a cloud dev environment; no browser- or computer-operating agent documented on the pages checked.

Verified Oct 13, 2026

Privacy and control

Opt out of model training
Google AI Pro
Yes

Default ON for 18+; turn off Keep Activity (chats still kept up to 72 hours).

Verified Oct 12, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Yes

Since Apr 24 2026 GitHub may train on Free/Pro/Pro+/Max interaction data by default; you can opt out anytime ('Allow GitHub to use my data for AI model training' -> Disabled).

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Export your data
Google AI Pro
Yes

Export via Google Takeout.

Verified Oct 12, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Unclear

Plans FAQ only points to the GitHub Privacy Statement for access/deletion; no Copilot chat-history export documented.

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Shows ads
Google AI Pro
Unclear

No official statement found about ads in the Gemini app.

Verified Oct 12, 2026

Copilot Pro
Unclear

Advertising not mentioned on the pages checked.

Verified Oct 13, 2026

Rights and licensing

Commercial use of outputs
Google AI Pro
Unclear

Not stated as a permission: Google's Terms say Google won't claim ownership of generated content and set no plan-specific ban; no page grants commercial use in so many words.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Unclear

Not stated as a permission: GitHub's Terms (Section J) say GitHub does not claim ownership of Output and set no commercial-use ban; no page grants commercial use in so many words.

Verified Oct 15, 2026 · Source

Apps and extras

Cloud storage included
Google AI Pro
Yes

5 TB.

Verified Oct 12, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Unclear

No cloud storage bundled with Copilot is documented.

Verified Oct 13, 2026

Apps
Google AI Pro
Yes

Web, Android, iOS, desktop app for Windows 10+ and macOS 15+ (Apple Silicon).

Verified Oct 12, 2026 · Source

Copilot Pro
Yes

IDE extensions (VS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains, Xcode, Eclipse, Neovim, Zed, SSMS, Raycast), Copilot CLI, GitHub Copilot app (desktop), github.com and GitHub Mobile. Docs: all plans include CLI and Copilot app.

Verified Oct 13, 2026 · Source

Editors and completions

Google's coding tools for consumer accounts now run through Google Antigravity: its own IDE and CLI, plus extensions for VS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains, Zed and Xcode, signed in with a personal Google Account. Antigravity is free with no subscription. Consumer access to Gemini Code Assist in the IDE and Gemini CLI ended on June 18, 2026.

GitHub documents Copilot extensions for VS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains IDEs, Xcode, Eclipse, Neovim, Zed and more, with agent mode in five of them. Every plan includes Copilot CLI and the GitHub Copilot desktop app. GitHub says features vary by editor.

For completions, Antigravity's $0 Individual plan lists unlimited Tab completions in the Antigravity IDE, and paid plans raise agent limits, not completions. Google does not say whether Tab completions also work in its VS Code or JetBrains extensions, so that is not verified. Copilot Pro documents unlimited inline suggestions and next edit suggestions that use no AI credits. Copilot Free caps completions at 2,000 a month.

Cloud agents that open pull requests

Jules, Google's cloud agent (a beta for users 18 and over), runs tasks in a cloud virtual machine on GitHub repositories you connect, and can publish a branch or open a pull request. Its limits page lists 15 tasks a day and 3 at once on the free tier, with Gemini 2.5 Pro, and 100 a day and 15 at once on Google AI Pro, with higher access to the latest model.

Copilot's cloud agent, from Pro up, researches a repository, plans, codes in a cloud environment and opens a pull request. Its documented limits: GitHub-hosted repositories only, one repository, branch and pull request per task, a 59-minute session limit, and AI credits for each task. Pro+ and Max can also hand tasks to Claude and Codex agents.

Pull request review

Copilot Pro includes Copilot code review on GitHub pull requests, run manually or automatically on pull requests you create, plus file-diff review in editors. GitHub puts a review at about $0.05 to $1 of AI credits on its Lite setting and $0.25 to $5 on Balanced. Copilot Free offers only "Review selection" in VS Code.

Google documents no pull request reviewer on any consumer plan (Ultra included). The consumer Gemini Code Assist on GitHub app, which covered Google AI Pro and Ultra users, was deprecated on June 18, 2026 and shut down on July 17, 2026, and Google documents no replacement. Jules answers comments only on its own pull requests.

Which models, from which companies

The Gemini app lists only Google models; on Google AI Pro that means 3.8 Flash and 3.1 Pro. Other companies' models appear only inside Antigravity, whose Pro column lists Claude Sonnet 5.5 and Opus 5.5 (not on trial subscriptions), Claude 4.6 models and GPT-OSS-120b, and Google marks the 4.6 models and GPT-OSS-120b for removal on November 2, 2026. Free and Plus do not get the Claude 5.5 models.

Copilot Pro offers models from Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, xAI, Moonshot and Microsoft, among them Claude Sonnet 5.5, GPT-6 Luna, Grok 4.7 and Gemini 3.8 Flash. So a Gemini model is available inside Copilot, paid from its credits: GitHub lists Gemini 3.8 Flash on Pro, Pro+ and Max. Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Fable 5.1, GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-5.6 Sol need Pro+ at $39 a month. Copilot Free uses automatic model selection only, and GitHub does not list which models it uses.

Limits and what extra use costs

Copilot Pro includes 1,500 GitHub AI Credits a month, 1,000 base plus 500 flex credits that GitHub says may change, at $0.01 a credit. Chat, agent mode, code review, the cloud agent and the CLI draw on them; completions do not. Past the allowance, use is billed against a dollar budget you set. Pro+ has 7,000 and Max 20,000.

On Google's side, Jules counts tasks per rolling 24 hours. Antigravity's free tier has basic weekly rate limits; on Pro, the quota refreshes every five hours up to a weekly limit, with AI-credit overages. We did not find a price for those credits on the pages we checked.

What else you are paying for

Google AI Pro is a general assistant plan with coding tools inside. It documents the Gemini app with a 1 million token context and uploads of up to 1,500 pages, Gemini in Gmail, Docs, Sheets and Vids, Deep Research, image and video generation, and 5 TB of storage. It is $19.99 a month or $199.99 a year paid up front, and students can get it free for a year after verification.

GitHub scopes Copilot to software work: code, repositories and development concepts. Image and video generation are not documented for Copilot. Around the code, it documents Copilot Spaces, custom agents, MCP servers and, on paid plans, Copilot Memory (public preview). Copilot Pro is $10 a month, monthly only for new subscribers. Neither vendor states whether US sales tax is included, so all prices here are before tax.

Privacy and training

Training is on by default on both. Google uses Gemini chats for training for users 18 and over; turning off Keep Activity stops it, but chats are still kept for up to 72 hours and memory of past chats stops working. The pages we checked do not say whether that setting also covers Jules or Antigravity. Since April 24, 2026, GitHub may train on interaction data from Copilot Free, Pro, Pro+ and Max by default; set "Allow GitHub to use my data for AI model training" to Disabled.

What we have not tested

Nothing here shows whose agent writes working code or whose reviews catch real problems. Run the same task in both with our code repair, code spec and code refactor kits, and on Copilot note how many credits each task uses. See our methodology. Related: Gemini vs Cursor and Cursor vs GitHub Copilot.

Which one for which situation

You want your pull requests reviewed automatically

Copilot Pro. It documents code review on GitHub pull requests, manual or automatic for pull requests you create, at about $0.05 to $5 of AI credits per review. Google shut down its consumer reviewer on July 17, 2026 and documents no replacement on any plan.

You want to hand many small tasks to a cloud agent

Google AI Pro lists 100 Jules tasks a day, 15 at once. Copilot Pro's cloud agent handles one repository, branch and pull request per task, stops at 59 minutes and pays from 1,500 monthly credits. Both work on GitHub repositories. Run our code spec kit on both.

You do not want to pay yet

Use both free tiers. Antigravity is free with a Google Account and lists unlimited Tab completions in its IDE, and free Jules allows 15 tasks a day. Copilot Free has 2,000 completions a month and limited chat and agent use, with no cloud agent or pull request review.

You code in Neovim or Eclipse

Copilot Pro. GitHub documents extensions for both. Google's documented Antigravity extensions are VS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains, Zed and Xcode; Neovim and Eclipse are not on that list, which means not documented, not confirmed missing.

You want Claude Opus in your editor

Antigravity's Pro column lists Claude Opus 5.5 (not on trial subscriptions), so Google AI Pro at $19.99 covers it. On Copilot, Claude Opus 5.5 needs Pro+ at $39 a month; Copilot Pro lists Claude Sonnet 5.5 and Haiku 5.5.

You also write and research in Google apps

Google AI Pro. It adds Gemini in Gmail, Docs and Sheets, Deep Research, a 1 million token context and 5 TB of storage. GitHub scopes Copilot to software work, so it is not built for documents or email.

Test them on your own work

We have not run these tests for you unless a result above says so. Each kit gives you the same files, the same prompt and the same checks for both tools.

Questions

Can Gemini review my GitHub pull requests?

Not on consumer plans. Google shut down the consumer Gemini Code Assist on GitHub app on July 17, 2026 and documents no replacement, on Pro or Ultra. Jules can open pull requests but answers comments only on its own. Copilot Pro documents code review on GitHub pull requests.

Can I use Gemini models inside GitHub Copilot?

Yes, on paid plans. GitHub lists Gemini 3.8 Flash on Copilot Pro, Pro+ and Max, paid from your AI credits. Copilot Free uses automatic model selection only, and GitHub does not list which models that uses.

Do I need a Google AI plan to use Antigravity?

No. Antigravity is free with a personal Google Account, with basic weekly rate limits and unlimited Tab completions in its IDE. Google AI Pro adds a higher quota that refreshes every five hours up to a weekly limit, AI-credit overages, and Claude Sonnet 5.5 and Opus 5.5.

Can I still use Gemini Code Assist or Gemini CLI?

Not on a consumer account. Google says consumer access to Code Assist in the IDE and Gemini CLI ended on June 18, 2026, including for Google AI Pro and Ultra. Antigravity, with its own IDE, CLI and editor extensions, is what Google now documents for consumer accounts.

What happens when Copilot Pro's credits run out?

Completions keep working, since they use no credits on Pro. Chat, agent mode, code review, the cloud agent and the CLI then bill against a dollar budget you set, at $0.01 a credit. Pro includes 1,500 credits a month, 500 of them flex credits that GitHub says may change.

Do Google and GitHub train on my code?

Training is on by default on both. GitHub may use interaction data from all individual Copilot plans since April 24, 2026; you can opt out in settings. Google trains on Gemini chats for users 18 and over unless you turn off Keep Activity; the pages we checked do not say whether that covers Jules or Antigravity.

Every fact links to its source and shows when it was verified. Read how AI Compare works and the change log.

No result here is paid for. Products cannot buy a better position, and no affiliate link is used in any comparison or recommendation.

Product names and logos are trademarks of their owners (ChatGPT and the OpenAI logo of OpenAI, Claude of Anthropic, Gemini of Google, and so on). Logos are shown only to identify each product and do not imply endorsement.

Found an error? Tell us at our contact page and we will correct it in the change log.