An assistant with an agent, or an editor with a bundle
Claude Pro is Anthropic's general assistant, with Research, web search, voice, projects, memory, file uploads and connectors such as Google Drive, Gmail, GitHub and Slack. Claude Code shares one usage pool with chat. Claude does not generate photos or illustrations on any plan.
Cursor describes itself as a coding agent. Premium adds cloud agents and automations, Bugbot, Origin code hosting (early beta) and Grok Bot, and xAI says it bundles SuperGrok, Cursor Pro and X Premium+. The general assistant in the bundle is Grok Chat, with Grok Imagine for images, Grok Voice and, from Premium, Grok video generation. All of it draws on the pool you also use for code.
Where each one works
On Pro, Claude Code runs as an extension for VS Code and Cursor (and other VS Code forks such as Devin Desktop and Kiro), and as a plugin for JetBrains IDEs including IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, Android Studio, WebStorm, PhpStorm and GoLand. Completions as you type are not verified: the extension docs are silent, and the Desktop app docs say that app has no autocomplete.
Cursor is its own desktop editor, with a CLI for macOS, Linux, WSL and Windows, web agents at cursor.com/agents and an iOS and iPadOS app listed for paid plans. Its agent also runs in JetBrains IDEs 2025.1 or later through ACP, on your Cursor plan, and in Xcode 26.3 or later projects through an MCP bridge. Premium documents Tab autocomplete with multi-line, cross-file and next-edit jumps. The new pricing page states no Tab limit; xAI says Premium includes Cursor Pro benefits, which listed unlimited Tab.
Cloud agents and pull request review
Claude Code on the web runs cloud sessions on Anthropic-managed virtual machines that keep running after you close your laptop, clone GitHub repos, create pull requests and offer auto-fix for pull requests, within Pro usage and with no separate machine charge. Repos hosted elsewhere are not documented on the pages we checked. Cursor's cloud agents run in cloud machines on GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket or Azure DevOps repos, work on a branch and open pull requests, started from the web, Slack, GitHub comments or the iOS app.
For reviews, Claude Pro uses Claude Code GitHub Actions authenticated with your Pro subscription token: a review workflow posts inline comments on pull requests automatically. Anthropic's managed Code Review (research preview) is for Team and Enterprise only. Cursor's Bugbot reviews GitHub and GitLab pull requests automatically on each update and comments with bugs, security issues and suggested fixes; it is usage-based. To see what each review catches, open a pull request with the bug from our code repair kit, and give both agents the same task from the code spec kit.
Models, limits and extra usage
Claude Pro includes Anthropic models only: Opus, Sonnet and Haiku, with Fable through usage credits (on Max, Fable can use up to 50% of the weekly limits). Context goes up to 1 million tokens. Limits are a session limit that resets every five hours plus a weekly limit. Max 5x ($100 a month) and Max 20x ($200) give five and twenty times Pro usage per session, are monthly only, and include $100 or $200 a month in Claude Platform API credits.
Cursor Premium gives 4 times Plus usage in a pool that refreshes weekly, shared by Cursor and Grok. Grok 4.7 and Composer 2.5 come from that pool; Grok 4.7 has a 256K standard window and 500K long context, with input over 256K billed at 2x. Models from Anthropic, OpenAI, Google and Meta, such as Claude Opus 5.5, GPT-5.6 Sol and Gemini 3.1 Pro, are outside the pool and billed at API list price through top-ups, with spending caps (see API prices).
Using Claude inside Cursor
Anthropic lists the Claude Code extension for Cursor on Pro and Max, and it shares your Claude plan's usage limits; the pages we checked do not say which Cursor plan, if any, it needs. Inside Cursor itself, Claude Opus 5.5 and Claude Fable 5.1 are among the third-party models from Premium, billed at API list price in addition to the $30 subscription. Cursor Free has no third-party models and Plus has Grok models only. Whether Max's API credits can pay for Claude models in Cursor is not documented.
Price, billing and privacy
Claude Pro is $20 a month, or $200 a year on the web paid up front (about $17 a month); whether tax is included is not documented, and Anthropic points mobile buyers to their app store's price. Cursor Premium is $30 a month before tax, monthly only.
Anthropic asks you to choose the Model Improvement setting at sign-up and lets you change it in Privacy Settings, but does not state the default. Cursor's Privacy Mode keeps your code out of training by Cursor and model providers, under zero data retention agreements; with it off, Cursor may train on codebase data and prompts. Claude data can be exported from the web or desktop app; no export is documented for Cursor. Anthropic states an ad-free commitment on every plan. No ads are documented inside Cursor; the X part of Premium is ad-free on "most surfaces".
Free tiers
Claude Free includes Sonnet and Haiku, web search, file work with code execution, voice and up to five projects, with rolling five-hour limits, but no Claude Code, editor integration, cloud sessions or Research. Cursor Free gives limited agent and chat requests, a starter allowance for Cursor's coding agents and limited Grok, with no cloud agents, Bugbot or third-party models; its Tab limit is not stated. Plus, an $8 introductory plan, adds Basic usage with Grok models only.